My Prized Possession

by Confessions

It was everything I ever wanted, everything I ever searched for my whole life and I finally got it.
I never wanted to let it go and I never wanted anyone else to have it.
It was mine and all mine, only mine.
It lite up my day like the moon lights up the dark sky at night.
But it was so simple and beautiful like a flower that first blooms in May. 

I got to wake up everyday and it would already be looking at me.
I made sure it was close and always close because, if it got too far someone else might pick it up and never give it back.
It was worth more than gold, or even pearls fresh from the sea, but it cost less than a rusty old penny. 

I woke up everyday and you would be starring back at me.
You were always close and never too far because, you wanted to make sure everyone knew you were mine.
You were worth more than gold but never cost anything, nothing could ever buy you out not even an old penny.

You were everything I ever wanted, everything I ever searched for in my whole life and I finally got you.
I never wanted to let go and I never wanted anyone else to have you.
You were mine and all mine, only mine.
You lite up my gloomy days like the moon lights up a dark sky.
Your smile was everything, it was as beautiful as the first flower that blooms in May.

Your smile was my prized possession.

I guess I should have shared it more…

